unlock factory radio - Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum
Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum  
Go Back   Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum > 2004-2012 Colorado / Canyon Forum - First Generation Tech Area > Aesthetics > Audio/Multimedia

355Nation.net is the premier Chevrolet Colorado Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-23-2008, 08:01 PM   #1
post count is zero

Contributing Member How-To CM 

 
gauge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: I dont know... Im lost
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
unlock factory radio

my buddy just got a colorado and his only came with an AM/FM radio and i had a 6 disk CD player that came out of mine so we put it in his truck but is says locked. does any one know how to unlock?
gauge is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-23-2008, 08:03 PM   #2
5cylinder and Tire slayer

TOTM Winner Nation Elite Contributing Member How-To CM Nation Advocate Calendar Spread 355Loyalty 100K NESM 09 SESM 10 MESM 10 MESM 11 

 
WTRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 16,288
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: unlock factory radio

the radio has a VIN encoded inside of it, you have to take it to the dealer so they can use the tech 2 to program his VIN to it because your VIN doesn't match his so it goes into locked mode..

(edited b/c I didn't read his whole post before I posted lol)
__________________
-Tribo


RIP SC
RIP Skitz
"Only the Good die young"


1997 S10 ZQ8 /2.2 5-Speed
2004 Colorado ZQ8 /3.5/3.7/3.5 Auto (Totaled 10-6-2011...RIPieces)
2004 Colorado ZQ8 /LSX/T56

Last edited by WTRacing; 09-23-2008 at 08:05 PM.
WTRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 08:04 PM   #3
Nation Master

355 O.G. Chapter Founder TOTM Winner Nation Elite Contributing Member How-To CM SuperMeet Organizer Nation Advocate Calendar Spread 355 Celebrity NESM 08 NESM 09 

 
JosueZQ8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Amherst, OH
Posts: 9,021
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Send a message via AIM to JosueZQ8 Send a message via Yahoo to JosueZQ8
Re: unlock factory radio

Correct. The dealer has to program it to the specific truck...shouldn't cost to much though...
JosueZQ8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 08:04 PM   #4
Nation Master

Nation Elite Contributing Member TXSM 10 

 
La Colorado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Austin,Texas..NL mex
Posts: 8,616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Send a message via MSN to La Colorado
Re: unlock factory radio

you have to take it to the dealer and pay them like $60 for the unlock code.......

I heard something about being able to unlock it with a code found in the glove box of the original truck that it came from but IDK...
__________________
| |.:R.I.P Skitz 06/20/1984-06/27/2011:.||
La Colorado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 08:05 PM   #5
post count is zero

Contributing Member How-To CM 

 
gauge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: I dont know... Im lost
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: unlock factory radio

Quote:
Originally Posted by La Colorado View Post
you have to take it to the dealer and pay them like $60 for the unlock code.......

I heard something about being able to unlock it with a code found in the glove box of the original truck that it came from but IDK...
i think iv head of that too thats why i was asking
gauge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 08:08 PM   #6
5cylinder and Tire slayer

TOTM Winner Nation Elite Contributing Member How-To CM Nation Advocate Calendar Spread 355Loyalty 100K NESM 09 SESM 10 MESM 10 MESM 11 

 
WTRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 16,288
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: unlock factory radio

thats possible if its locked in YOUR truck..
__________________
-Tribo


RIP SC
RIP Skitz
"Only the Good die young"


1997 S10 ZQ8 /2.2 5-Speed
2004 Colorado ZQ8 /3.5/3.7/3.5 Auto (Totaled 10-6-2011...RIPieces)
2004 Colorado ZQ8 /LSX/T56
WTRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 08:34 PM   #7
Nation Master

Nation Elite Contributing Member TXSM 10 

 
La Colorado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Austin,Texas..NL mex
Posts: 8,616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Send a message via MSN to La Colorado
Re: unlock factory radio

Quote:
Originally Posted by WTRacing View Post
thats possible if its locked in YOUR truck..
yah but it has to do with the VIN number or something
__________________
| |.:R.I.P Skitz 06/20/1984-06/27/2011:.||
La Colorado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 11:06 PM   #8
post count is zero

Contributing Member How-To CM 

 
gauge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: I dont know... Im lost
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: unlock factory radio

yeah i got a buddy at a dealership thats gonna do it for me for free
gauge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 07:22 PM   #9
New To The Nation
 
coloh3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ft. Collins, Colorado
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: unlock factory radio

the dealer wants 100 bucks
__________________
2004 Chevy Colorado LS Crew Cab Z71 4x4
http://www.myspace.com/coloradojon
coloh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 07:32 PM   #10
"ALL JACKED UP"

Military Service TOTM Winner Contributing Member Calendar Spread 355 Celebrity Skitz Award 355Loyalty 100K NESM 09 

 
Kraco5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brunswick, Ohio
Posts: 2,334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Re: unlock factory radio

yea but that's the only way to get it to work.
__________________
Kraco5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 12:54 PM   #11
Premium Member

TOTM Winner Lifetime Contributing Member How-To CM Calendar Spread 355Loyalty 100K 

 
(N.L.C)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: DETROIT,MI
Posts: 4,574
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: unlock factory radio

I know its 3yrs old put has anything change in the last yrs i just put the radio i got from a member it says locked, the only solution is take to a Stealership??
__________________
http://www.355nation.net/forum/attachments/contributing-members-only/147737d1402032130-cms-get-your-custom-sigs-here-nlc.jpg
FOR SALE 2006 SILVERADO SS CLONE PM ME FOR INFO
(N.L.C) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 01:17 PM   #12
Nation Elite

Contributing Member How-To CM 

 
Josh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Irvine, KY
Posts: 2,382
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Send a message via MSN to Josh Send a message via Skype™ to Josh
Re: unlock factory radio

Quote:
Originally Posted by (N.L.C) View Post
I know its 3yrs old put has anything change in the last yrs i just put the radio i got from a member it says locked, the only solution is take to a Stealership??
Yes.

You can thank GM's Passlock feature. What happens at the factory is the factory GM stereo is VIN imprinted to the truck it is installed in. So when you take it out and put it in another truck, the VIN's don't match and the stereo thinks it's been stolen, so it locks up.

I took my truck to the dealer, and in 5 mins they had it unlocked and playing. Didn't charge me a dime, but I had a hookup.
Josh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 01:22 PM   #13
Premium Member

TOTM Winner Lifetime Contributing Member How-To CM Calendar Spread 355Loyalty 100K 

 
(N.L.C)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: DETROIT,MI
Posts: 4,574
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: unlock factory radio

Will see if i got a hook up lol.. thanks
__________________
http://www.355nation.net/forum/attachments/contributing-members-only/147737d1402032130-cms-get-your-custom-sigs-here-nlc.jpg
FOR SALE 2006 SILVERADO SS CLONE PM ME FOR INFO
(N.L.C) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 04:33 PM   #14
Nation Master
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
Posts: 4,348
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: unlock factory radio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh View Post
Yes.

You can thank GM's Passlock feature. What happens at the factory is the factory GM stereo is VIN imprinted to the truck it is installed in. So when you take it out and put it in another truck, the VIN's don't match and the stereo thinks it's been stolen, so it locks up.

I took my truck to the dealer, and in 5 mins they had it unlocked and playing. Didn't charge me a dime, but I had a hookup.
Nice, I've heard it's expensive to get fixed.

Also, I was told they can do the fix through the OBDII port, so you may be able to leave it installed and drive you truck to the shop.
08Canyon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 05:52 PM   #15
Premium Member

TOTM Winner Lifetime Contributing Member How-To CM Calendar Spread 355Loyalty 100K 

 
(N.L.C)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: DETROIT,MI
Posts: 4,574
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: unlock factory radio

At the dealership they charge $110 but been here more then ones there doing it for $55 not to bad i guess
__________________
http://www.355nation.net/forum/attachments/contributing-members-only/147737d1402032130-cms-get-your-custom-sigs-here-nlc.jpg
FOR SALE 2006 SILVERADO SS CLONE PM ME FOR INFO
(N.L.C) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 06:49 PM   #16
Nation Citizen

Calendar Spread 100K SESM 2013 SESM 2014 

 
Tweek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Crossville TN
Posts: 1,348
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Re: unlock factory radio

I would invest the $$ on a good aftermarket unit and speakers instead of putting it in a OEM unit...But thats just me !! Good luck either way !!
__________________

2005 "Chevrolet" Canyon Z-88 4x4 REG. Cab 2.8 / I-4 / 5 Speed
Z-71 Wheels 3:73 Gears
Victory Red / Superior Blue Metallic / Gun Metal Metallic
Webbed And Spiderman 3-D Logos
Tweek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 07:06 PM   #17
This is my custom title

Lifetime Contributing Member USASM2012 

 
SpindlyJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Stony Plain, Alberta
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: unlock factory radio

I thought there was a how-to somewhere.
You need to phone a toll-free "GM only" number and then enter different VIN and radio partnumbers and then it gives an unlock code or something.

I can't find it but I remember seeing it somewhere.
__________________
BBB crew...all day, every day.

RIP Skitz - you'll be missed
SpindlyJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 07:33 PM   #18
Premium Member

TOTM Winner Lifetime Contributing Member How-To CM Calendar Spread 355Loyalty 100K 

 
(N.L.C)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: DETROIT,MI
Posts: 4,574
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: unlock factory radio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweek View Post
I would invest the $$ on a good aftermarket unit and speakers instead of putting it in a OEM unit...But thats just me !! Good luck either way !!
I dont like aftermarket radio its just me oem is good for me.
__________________
http://www.355nation.net/forum/attachments/contributing-members-only/147737d1402032130-cms-get-your-custom-sigs-here-nlc.jpg
FOR SALE 2006 SILVERADO SS CLONE PM ME FOR INFO
(N.L.C) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 07:39 PM   #19
This is my custom title

Lifetime Contributing Member USASM2012 

 
SpindlyJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Stony Plain, Alberta
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: unlock factory radio

I can't find the thread for the unlock how-to

How to Unlock a GM Radio | eHow.com has some of it.
Maybe google "unlock gmc stock radio" - I found a few hits but not the one I was thinking of.
__________________
BBB crew...all day, every day.

RIP Skitz - you'll be missed
SpindlyJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 07:40 PM   #20
Nation Citizen

Calendar Spread 100K SESM 2013 SESM 2014 

 
Tweek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Crossville TN
Posts: 1,348
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Re: unlock factory radio

Quote:
Originally Posted by (N.L.C) View Post
I dont like aftermarket radio its just me oem is good for me.
My Bro. is the same as you...He likes his OEM and is not changing it out. I could not wait to swap them out...LOL
__________________

2005 "Chevrolet" Canyon Z-88 4x4 REG. Cab 2.8 / I-4 / 5 Speed
Z-71 Wheels 3:73 Gears
Victory Red / Superior Blue Metallic / Gun Metal Metallic
Webbed And Spiderman 3-D Logos
Tweek is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:19 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
All content copyright 355Nation.net

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.0