Where to install amp in crew cab config - Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum
Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum
 
Go Back   Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum > Tech Area > Aesthetics > Audio/Multimedia

355Nation.net is the premier Chevrolet Colorado Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-20-2011, 07:08 PM   #1
Another day.....

Contributing Member WCSM 09 

 
Hood Star's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New West, B.C.
Posts: 2,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Where to install amp in crew cab config

Where did you install your amp? I bought Dareks box. I got a fully loaded crew cab under neath the front seats are full of wires and motors so no room there. I am thinking there is room underneath the passenger backseat. I looked behind the seats and don't think I can install a amp there. All ideas will help so please reply. Ideally I'd like to install it on the box but Darek seems to not answer anything I ask about placement of the amp.
__________________
Hood Star is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-20-2011, 07:14 PM   #2
Ass Milk

Military Service SESM 11 

 
ashley.peele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: KILLEEN TX
Posts: 1,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to ashley.peele
Re: Where to install amp in crew cab config

behind the seats son....thats where mine r
__________________


RAM air, billet grille inserts, custom fiber between rear buckets, drilled & slotted rotors,20" cavittos, chrome bowtie, AVH4100 DVD, kicker amps & components, custom PCM tune, flowmaster 40 series dual exhaust, 7.5 inch screens in headrest, chrome bowtie, push button start, SS mirrors, tweed headliner with 10 inch bowtie, street performance shocks, gaylord fiberglass tonneau, volant CAI, smoked 3rd brake light, candy tail lights, bed rug, swing box, super servo's, super sparks, belltech 3in drop leafs....much more!
ashley.peele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 07:19 PM   #3
Nation Master

Nation Elite Nation Advocate Calendar Spread 

 
Koda22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ruidoso, NM
Posts: 4,910
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: Where to install amp in crew cab config

yea i got 2 amps on the back wall...
__________________
2008 Silver Z71 4X4 Crew Cab Canyon I5
And A Couple Mods.....
Koda22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 08:26 PM   #4
New To The Nation
 
killerado22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Back wall for sure get crazy with it!!!


Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app
killerado22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 08:46 PM   #5
Troll Terminator

355Nation Moderator Military Service Chapter Founder TOTM Winner Nation Elite OG Lifetime Contributing Member How-To CM SuperMeet Organizer Nation Advocate 355 Celebrity MTS Skitz Award 355Loyalty 100K NESM 09 NESM 2013 

 
1BADI5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ft Belvoir, VA / Maryland
Posts: 38,780
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to 1BADI5
Re: Where to install amp in crew cab config

under the back seat
__________________
NRA Member/MSI Member/US Army Lifer - Unit Armorer - RSO - Utah CCW holder

Quote:
Originally Posted by GMCanyonL76 View Post
Thats pretty cool man, how much shrinkage did you have to overcome?

To preserve liberty it is essential that the whole body of the people always possess arms and be taught alike, especially when young, how to use them…RICHARD HENRY LEE, 1788, Federal Farmer


http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i281/blurred_shadows/1badi5-2.jpg
1BADI5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 09:16 PM   #6
Nation Affiliate

Military Service Contributing Member 

 
tummys10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bremerton, Wa
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Send a message via Yahoo to tummys10
Re: Where to install amp in crew cab config

behind back seat on wall
tummys10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 09:35 PM   #7
Nation Advocate

SECSM2012 SECSM 2013 SECSM 2014 

 
slade's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Send a message via MSN to slade
Re: Where to install amp in crew cab config






Now 2 amps replaced the Alpine , it was a tight fit but they are both there.

You can hide all your wiring behind the panel as well.
__________________
AVT Tuned/Supermodded/Beaten Daily/Canada355.ca Moderator
slade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 09:55 PM   #8
Another day.....

Contributing Member WCSM 09 

 
Hood Star's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New West, B.C.
Posts: 2,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: Where to install amp in crew cab config

Nice so most of you have it on the backside. Good to know. Now does the seats come off easily? Really appreciate the feed back guys.
__________________
Hood Star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 10:40 PM   #9
Premium Member

Lifetime Contributing Member 

 
KaMi_21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: Where to install amp in crew cab config

of course they come out easy al, bring it over ill take em out for ya.
KaMi_21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 11:39 PM   #10
Nation Advocate

MESM 11 

 
1lowride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: Where to install amp in crew cab config

yeah, I think it's 4 bolts... I put mine under the seat on the passenger side but I think the back wall is best cause it is easier to adjust your amp settings
__________________
R.I.P. Forrest "Skitz" August 6/20/1984 - 6/27/2011
You will always be missed but never forgotten!

Live for the days you won't forget and the nites you won't remember!
1lowride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 11:43 PM   #11
SLOTHMASTER

355 O.G. Chapter Founder TOTM Winner Nation Elite Lifetime Contributing Member How-To CM SuperMeet Organizer Calendar Spread 355 Celebrity Skitz Award 355Loyalty USASM2012 NESM 09 SESM 09 SESM 10 SESM 11 SESM 2013 MESM 10 MESM 11 

 
kerad11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: clarksville, tn
Posts: 29,431
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Garage
Re: Where to install amp in crew cab config



I thought i told you this....maybe i didnt hit send...

I had both my amps under the front seats.

Was always scared to put them behind the seats because of lack of airflow, even though others have done it.
__________________
BBB crew...all day, every day.
kerad11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 12:18 AM   #12
Another day.....

Contributing Member WCSM 09 

 
Hood Star's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New West, B.C.
Posts: 2,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: Where to install amp in crew cab config

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaMi_21 View Post
of course they come out easy al, bring it over ill take em out for ya.
thanks bud! I take you up on that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1lowride View Post
yeah, I think it's 4 bolts... I put mine under the seat on the passenger side but I think the back wall is best cause it is easier to adjust your amp settings
four bolts ain't nothing!

Quote:
Originally Posted by kerad11 View Post


I thought i told you this....maybe i didnt hit send...

I had both my amps under the front seats.

Was always scared to put them behind the seats because of lack of airflow, even though others have done it.
No worrys man I got all the info on here that I need/wanted. By the way you got a time frame when you gonna package my sub and box and ship it to me?
__________________
Hood Star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 07:53 AM   #13
SLOTHMASTER

355 O.G. Chapter Founder TOTM Winner Nation Elite Lifetime Contributing Member How-To CM SuperMeet Organizer Calendar Spread 355 Celebrity Skitz Award 355Loyalty USASM2012 NESM 09 SESM 09 SESM 10 SESM 11 SESM 2013 MESM 10 MESM 11 

 
kerad11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: clarksville, tn
Posts: 29,431
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Garage
Re: Where to install amp in crew cab config

Probably today.

I have three other boxes that need to ship too now so...
__________________
BBB crew...all day, every day.
kerad11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 10:19 AM   #14
Another day.....

Contributing Member WCSM 09 

 
Hood Star's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New West, B.C.
Posts: 2,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: Where to install amp in crew cab config

Quote:
Originally Posted by kerad11 View Post
Probably today.

I have three other boxes that need to ship too now so...
!



Anybody got pics handy? I looked yesterday and the back seat seems like a good location. Under the seat is not flat.
__________________
Hood Star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 10:31 AM   #15
Your Neighborhood Redneck

Military Service Lifetime Contributing Member Calendar Spread MESM 11 

 
Sfa_Colorado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: kalamazoo mi
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Send a message via AIM to Sfa_Colorado Send a message via Yahoo to Sfa_Colorado
Re: Where to install amp in crew cab config

if you are worried about heat then hook a small computer fan up and get some air flow i am running 3200 watts in my truck.... was running 3200 blew the master from heat and a 3 hr drive rockin and rollen. i just bought a new one tho so in it will go in a few days!!

3 subs
1 alphasonic 800s 800rms
2 alphasonic 400s 800rms together
2 1600w planet audio one chanel mono block D 1 ohm stable
Sfa_Colorado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 12:57 PM   #16
Nation Advocate

MESM 11 

 
1lowride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: Where to install amp in crew cab config

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hood Star View Post
!



Anybody got pics handy? I looked yesterday and the back seat seems like a good location. Under the seat is not flat.
If you look in my picture album (pictures are of old amp and sub) you can see how I mounted my amp and sub. I fit a kicker 750.1 amp (good size amp) and it sat flat on the passenger side under the rear seat. It may not have been perfectly flat but flat enough for an amp. I have some pics of my 750.1 installed on my computer I just have to upload them
__________________
R.I.P. Forrest "Skitz" August 6/20/1984 - 6/27/2011
You will always be missed but never forgotten!

Live for the days you won't forget and the nites you won't remember!
1lowride is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:18 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
All content copyright 355Nation.net

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.0