ABS light reset... - Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum
Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum
Go Back   Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum > 2004-2012 Chevrolet Colorado Forum / GMC Canyon Forum - First Generation Tech Area > Chassis > Brakes

355Nation.net is the premier Chevrolet Colorado Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2009, 10:43 PM   #1
Nation Elite

Chapter Founder  TOTM Winner  Nation Elite  Contributing Member  How-To CM  Public Service  Calendar Spread  NESM 09 

 
NORMSCOLORADO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Where the hell is Jay, NY?
Posts: 3,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Send a message via AIM to NORMSCOLORADO
ABS light reset...

well after i changed the brakes the ABS light came on and after that i changed the oil seals, hubs and both ABS sensors the light is still on... do i do the battery reset?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slo86GT View Post
Jeremy Clarkson would have emerged from the Mazda, and without batting an eye would have rattled off something like...

"Oh good God, man. Get back in your overpriced COCKMOBILE and scamper off!"

NORMSCOLORADO is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-05-2009, 09:01 PM   #2
Nation Elite

Chapter Founder  TOTM Winner  Nation Elite  Contributing Member  How-To CM  Public Service  Calendar Spread  NESM 09 

 
NORMSCOLORADO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Where the hell is Jay, NY?
Posts: 3,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Send a message via AIM to NORMSCOLORADO
Re: ABS light reset...

anyone?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slo86GT View Post
Jeremy Clarkson would have emerged from the Mazda, and without batting an eye would have rattled off something like...

"Oh good God, man. Get back in your overpriced COCKMOBILE and scamper off!"

NORMSCOLORADO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 09:26 PM   #3
Premium Member

Military Service  Contributing Member  355Loyalty 

 
gbc43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: canton , MI
Posts: 2,637
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: ABS light reset...

Quote:
Originally Posted by NORMSCOLORADO View Post
anyone?
It resets every time you turn the truck off,
try deleating the code and see if it stays gone...
glen
__________________

2004 Canyon Z-71 Ext Cab SLE
3.5 auto 3.42 gear
Michigan 355
86,000 miles
gbc43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 10:15 PM   #4
Nation Elite

Chapter Founder  Contributing Member 

 
schardbody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 2,435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Send a message via AIM to schardbody Send a message via Yahoo to schardbody
Re: ABS light reset...

the ABS does a self test everytime the key is turned to the ON position, so if the light is on while you are driving you still have a problem.
__________________
CAROLINA CHAPTER!!!
355NATION DONATIONS
schardbody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 10:19 PM   #5
Premium Member

Military Service  Nation Elite  Lifetime Contributing Member  SuperMeet Organizer  Public Service  TXSM 10  TXSM 11  SCSM 2013 

 
DirtyBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Viginia Beach, VA/Deer Park, TEXAS
Posts: 3,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: ABS light reset...

i sometimes have the same problem... when i turn the engine over it gives me a ABS fault message
__________________
DirtyBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 11:32 PM   #6
Nation Elite

Chapter Founder  TOTM Winner  Nation Elite  Contributing Member  How-To CM  Public Service  Calendar Spread  NESM 09 

 
NORMSCOLORADO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Where the hell is Jay, NY?
Posts: 3,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Send a message via AIM to NORMSCOLORADO
Re: ABS light reset...

Quote:
Originally Posted by gbc43 View Post
It resets every time you turn the truck off,
try deleating the code and see if it stays gone...
glen

hey glen can vatozone or advance do this for me or will i have to take it to the stealershit?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slo86GT View Post
Jeremy Clarkson would have emerged from the Mazda, and without batting an eye would have rattled off something like...

"Oh good God, man. Get back in your overpriced COCKMOBILE and scamper off!"

NORMSCOLORADO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 12:04 AM   #7
SuspensionMAXX Site Sponsor

Military Service  Nation Elite  OG Lifetime Contributing Member  How-To CM  Nation Vendor  355 Celebrity  MTS 

 
ssgjurista's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fort Carson, CO
Posts: 3,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to ssgjurista
Re: ABS light reset...

If Autozone or Advance has a scanner for ABS systems then yes.
__________________
2005 Z71 LS Crew Cab 4X4 L52, 4L60E, GT4, Silver Birch Metallic, Amsoil Synthetics, SSK Black Chrome Shifter

Another GM fail; no truck engine should have less torque than horsepower. Oh wait......it's an SUV with a bed.
ssgjurista is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 12:31 AM   #8
Nation Advocate
 
That210Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: SA-Town, TX
Posts: 916
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: ABS light reset...

u should just be able to turn the truck off and on again and it should go away....u can try disconnecting the battery!!!
That210Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 06:56 AM   #9
Premium Member

Military Service  Contributing Member  355Loyalty 

 
gbc43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: canton , MI
Posts: 2,637
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: ABS light reset...

they can at auto zone and advance auto. I dont know the other ...
glen
__________________

2004 Canyon Z-71 Ext Cab SLE
3.5 auto 3.42 gear
Michigan 355
86,000 miles

Last edited by gbc43; 06-06-2009 at 06:59 AM.
gbc43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 10:46 PM   #10
Nation Citizen

Military Service 

 
FMRJPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: ABS light reset...

i have been away for a bit, and didn't hear the resolution of your wheel bearing issue. Is it possible you pinched the wires?
__________________
FMRJPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 04:13 PM   #11
Nation Elite

Chapter Founder  TOTM Winner  Nation Elite  Contributing Member  How-To CM  Public Service  Calendar Spread  NESM 09 

 
NORMSCOLORADO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Where the hell is Jay, NY?
Posts: 3,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Send a message via AIM to NORMSCOLORADO
Re: ABS light reset...

ok well i have a buddy that scanned mine for free... and it said check fuse/ check ground and loan behold the fuse is gone..... idk wtf.... so i do that and back the truck up light goes out! cool.... but then i take off down the road hit the brakes and bam abs is kickin in and the light comes back on and then the brakes are fine till i restart the truck again????? idk what the hell is going on with it...... this minor inconvenience aint stopping me from going to the super meet if i lose the brakes i got the gears to slow me down! nothing is stopping me this year !
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slo86GT View Post
Jeremy Clarkson would have emerged from the Mazda, and without batting an eye would have rattled off something like...

"Oh good God, man. Get back in your overpriced COCKMOBILE and scamper off!"

NORMSCOLORADO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 04:34 PM   #12
SuspensionMAXX Site Sponsor

Military Service  Nation Elite  OG Lifetime Contributing Member  How-To CM  Nation Vendor  355 Celebrity  MTS 

 
ssgjurista's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fort Carson, CO
Posts: 3,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to ssgjurista
Re: ABS light reset...

Even when the ABS isn't working you still have the regular brakes.
__________________
2005 Z71 LS Crew Cab 4X4 L52, 4L60E, GT4, Silver Birch Metallic, Amsoil Synthetics, SSK Black Chrome Shifter

Another GM fail; no truck engine should have less torque than horsepower. Oh wait......it's an SUV with a bed.
ssgjurista is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:56 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
All content copyright 355Nation.net


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.0