GTE stage 1 performance chip - Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum
Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum
 
Go Back   Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum > Tech Area > Engines/Performance/Tech Questions > Tuning

355Nation.net is the premier Chevrolet Colorado Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
View Poll Results: Should I take the chip out or leave it in?
Take the chip out 24 88.89%
Leave it the way it is 3 11.11%
Voters: 27. You may not vote on this poll

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack (4) Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-06-2013, 06:28 PM   #1
Premium Member
 
J.Shrubsall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
GTE stage 1 performance chip

I have a 2006 GMC Canyon CC with K&N CAI and Magnaflow dual exhaust. I've discovered that the truck has this performance chip in it. I've looked it up and it seems like the type of thing that I wouldn't have spent my money on in the first place. A lot of mixed reviews on it in other cars. I haven't heard any reviews from people using this in a canyon or colorado.

My question is should I take this out or leave it in? Not sure if this will harm my engine in the long run. The truck has been driving fine since I got it (about a month driving it) but since this is my first canyon I have no idea what they drive like without it. I'm not interested in a tune right now if I decide to take it out.

Also does anyone know anything about these chips or have any experience with them?
J.Shrubsall is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-06-2013, 06:30 PM   #2
Premium Member

Contributing Member Calendar Spread 100K 

 
2005xtreme74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 2,435
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Garage
Re: GTE stage 1 performance chip

Who makes the chip?
Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
__________________



RET--Carolina Chapter
RIDE OR DIE
I LIVE MY LIFE A QUARTER MILE AT A TIME
NOTHING ELSE MATTERS
2005xtreme74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 06:38 PM   #3
Premium Member
 
J.Shrubsall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: GTE stage 1 performance chip

I found it on this website Stage 1 Performance Chip

Based on the info on that site I never would have bought it.
__________________
2006 GMC Canyon CC 3.5L K&N CAI, Magnaflow Dual Exhaust, 09+ Brake Swap, Supermod PTB
Check out my build thread: http://www.355nation.net/forum/proje...on-canada.html
J.Shrubsall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 06:45 PM   #4
New To The Nation
 
kendig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: GTE stage 1 performance chip

If it isn't something you would've ever bought for yourself, I'd take it out. I wouldn't trust any chip in any of my vehicles, always hear more bad than good about them.


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
__________________
kendig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 06:49 PM   #5
Premium Member
 
J.Shrubsall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: GTE stage 1 performance chip

I just don't know enough about it right now. If it works like it's advertized then I don't mind leaving it in. When I say it's not something I'd put in it's cuz I'm cheap lol. I wouldn't put out the money for a dual exhaust but I absolutely love my magnaflow.
__________________
2006 GMC Canyon CC 3.5L K&N CAI, Magnaflow Dual Exhaust, 09+ Brake Swap, Supermod PTB
Check out my build thread: http://www.355nation.net/forum/proje...on-canada.html
J.Shrubsall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 06:50 PM   #6
Nation Elite

Contributing Member How-To CM 

 
Josh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Irvine, KY
Posts: 2,374
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Send a message via MSN to Josh Send a message via Skype™ to Josh
Re: GTE stage 1 performance chip

Take it off. eBay special junk, I guarantee you'll notice ZERO difference with it removed.
__________________
It's stock.. looking.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kerad11 View Post
I also fuck watermelons for extra heart health points.
Josh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 06:55 PM   #7
Premium Member
 
J.Shrubsall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: GTE stage 1 performance chip

The truck does have some get up and go but that's probably just due to the K&N and the magnaflow dual exhaust. I've got a couple days before I have time to work on the truck so I'll see what everyone has to say about it in the mean time.
__________________
2006 GMC Canyon CC 3.5L K&N CAI, Magnaflow Dual Exhaust, 09+ Brake Swap, Supermod PTB
Check out my build thread: http://www.355nation.net/forum/proje...on-canada.html
J.Shrubsall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 07:27 PM   #8
Spoolin Jr. Survivor

Nation Elite 355 Celebrity USASM2012 TXSM 10 

 
emaxxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 6,587
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: GTE stage 1 performance chip

Take it off. It will hurt performance and possibly cause damage to vital components.
__________________

Mike B's 08 Colorado LT Z85 regular cab 3.7L auto 3.73 G80
e85+ 61mm
St. Louis MO Tuning Services
emaxxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 09:28 PM   #9
Nation Advocate

SESM 2013 

 
limequat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Northville, MI
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: GTE stage 1 performance chip

Quote:
Originally Posted by J.Shrubsall View Post
I have a 2006 GMC Canyon CC with K&N CAI and Magnaflow dual exhaust. I've discovered that the truck has this performance chip in it. I've looked it up and it seems like the type of thing that I wouldn't have spent my money on in the first place. A lot of mixed reviews on it in other cars. I haven't heard any reviews from people using this in a canyon or colorado.

My question is should I take this out or leave it in? Not sure if this will harm my engine in the long run. The truck has been driving fine since I got it (about a month driving it) but since this is my first canyon I have no idea what they drive like without it. I'm not interested in a tune right now if I decide to take it out.

Also does anyone know anything about these chips or have any experience with them?
How did you discover this and can I see a picture?

If it is in fact there, take it out, kill it with fire.
__________________
Lime-Swap.com
limequat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 09:29 PM   #10
Premium Member

TOTM Winner Lifetime Contributing Member How-To CM SuperMeet Organizer Calendar Spread 355 Celebrity USASM2012 WCSM 2014 SCSM 2013 SCSM 2014 

 
GregDAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Colton, CA
Posts: 2,438
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Garage
Re: GTE stage 1 performance chip

take it out
__________________

2011 Colorado Z71 2LT 4WD Crew Cab 3.7L with some mods
PCM tuned by Justin @ Black Bear Performance
GregDAP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 09:55 PM   #11
SLOTHMASTER

355 O.G. Chapter Founder TOTM Winner Nation Elite Lifetime Contributing Member How-To CM SuperMeet Organizer Calendar Spread 355 Celebrity Skitz Award 355Loyalty USASM2012 NESM 09 SESM 09 SESM 10 SESM 11 SESM 2013 MESM 10 MESM 11 

 
kerad11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: clarksville, tn
Posts: 29,430
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Garage
Re: GTE stage 1 performance chip

thats a pretty direct answer mr. the op.
__________________
BBB crew...all day, every day.
kerad11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 10:36 PM   #12
aka dbizzle

Lifetime Contributing Member Calendar Spread USASM2012 

 
boosted5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Manhattan, KS
Posts: 1,843
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Garage
Re: GTE stage 1 performance chip

i've heard they can cause damage, so def take it out like all have stated
__________________

VOTE FOR ME FOR TOTM!!! DO IT
boosted5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 02:10 AM   #13
Nation Advocate
 
keebler1400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Orlando
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: GTE stage 1 performance chip

So kind of odd but I noticed that everyone who says take it out always says they heard they we're bad. I'm not disagreeing, but is there anyone on here who's suffered the consequences we keep hearing about? Just curious.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
__________________
2009 Crew Cab Z71 4x4 5.3 V8
V8 FTW!!!
keebler1400 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 02:56 AM   #14
Darth Vader

TOTM Winner Nation Elite Lifetime Contributing Member How-To CM Calendar Spread 100K 

 
BlackZQ8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 4,894
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Re: GTE stage 1 performance chip

Quote:
Originally Posted by keebler1400 View Post
So kind of odd but I noticed that everyone who says take it out always says they heard they we're bad. I'm not disagreeing, but is there anyone on here who's suffered the consequences we keep hearing about? Just curious.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
I've always heard they make no difference. Can't say if there are consequences keeping it in. I would think there wouldn't be any down side except wasting money, which in the OP's case he didn't.
__________________
Scott
Carolina , Georgia , Mid South , Capital Chapter member

BlackZQ8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 03:37 AM   #15
Ass Milk

Military Service SESM 11 

 
ashley.peele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: KILLEEN TX
Posts: 1,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to ashley.peele
Re: GTE stage 1 performance chip

I had one for a yr....it was the stage 2 and yes it works. There was no damage...but it does make u drink a lot of gas...

Sent from AutoGuide.com App
__________________


RAM air, billet grille inserts, custom fiber between rear buckets, drilled & slotted rotors,20" cavittos, chrome bowtie, AVH4100 DVD, kicker amps & components, custom PCM tune, flowmaster 40 series dual exhaust, 7.5 inch screens in headrest, chrome bowtie, push button start, SS mirrors, tweed headliner with 10 inch bowtie, street performance shocks, gaylord fiberglass tonneau, volant CAI, smoked 3rd brake light, candy tail lights, bed rug, swing box, super servo's, super sparks, belltech 3in drop leafs....much more!
ashley.peele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 10:25 AM   #16
Nation Advocate

SESM 2013 

 
limequat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Northville, MI
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: GTE stage 1 performance chip

Quote:
Originally Posted by keebler1400 View Post
So kind of odd but I noticed that everyone who says take it out always says they heard they we're bad. I'm not disagreeing, but is there anyone on here who's suffered the consequences we keep hearing about? Just curious.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
That's why I said post a pic. Don't really know what it's doing until we see how it's implemented. I can guarantee that they didn't crack open the PCM case to put it in there.
__________________
Lime-Swap.com
limequat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 11:25 AM   #17
Nation Elite

Contributing Member How-To CM 

 
Josh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Irvine, KY
Posts: 2,374
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Send a message via MSN to Josh Send a message via Skype™ to Josh
Re: GTE stage 1 performance chip

Quote:
Originally Posted by limequat View Post
That's why I said post a pic. Don't really know what it's doing until we see how it's implemented. I can guarantee that they didn't crack open the PCM case to put it in there.
I think it's one of those deals that splices into the MAF wiring to change what AFR the computer sees or something like that. Everything that I've read about them says they're good for fucking your shit up in record time.

But hey, it's your truck mang,
__________________
It's stock.. looking.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kerad11 View Post
I also fuck watermelons for extra heart health points.

Last edited by Josh; 04-07-2013 at 11:32 AM.
Josh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 11:35 AM   #18
Premium Member
 
J.Shrubsall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: GTE stage 1 performance chip

I'll post a pic soon, hopefully later today. It is the type that splices into the maf.
@ashley.peele, was yours adjustable between economy and power? Mine has some sort of scale from 1-10 that you can set it to. 1 being most economical and 10 being most power. I haven't played around with it yet to see if adjusting it makes a difference.
__________________
2006 GMC Canyon CC 3.5L K&N CAI, Magnaflow Dual Exhaust, 09+ Brake Swap, Supermod PTB
Check out my build thread: http://www.355nation.net/forum/proje...on-canada.html
J.Shrubsall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 07:19 PM   #19
Nation Affiliate

SCSM 2013 

 
Tetrault's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Long Beach
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: GTE stage 1 performance chip

I would take it out, buddy at work was thinking about getting a chip, convinced him to get a tune instead.
Tetrault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 09:42 PM   #20
Premium Member
 
J.Shrubsall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: GTE stage 1 performance chip

My only concern at this point is long term damage to the engine/computer. I'm most likely gonna take it out but does anyone know anyone who has had problems with these type of chips?
I'll take a pic tomorrow and show you guys the set up.
__________________
2006 GMC Canyon CC 3.5L K&N CAI, Magnaflow Dual Exhaust, 09+ Brake Swap, Supermod PTB
Check out my build thread: http://www.355nation.net/forum/proje...on-canada.html
J.Shrubsall is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.355nation.net/forum/tuning/62196-gte-stage-1-performance-chip.html
Posted By For Type Date
Targeted Ad This thread Refback 10-16-2013 04:47 AM
Targeted Ad This thread Refback 09-18-2013 11:14 PM
Targeted Ad This thread Refback 09-18-2013 06:12 PM
Targeted Ad This thread Refback 09-18-2013 05:16 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:32 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
All content copyright 355Nation.net

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.0