Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum banner
1 - 20 of 64 Posts

· Captain of the Enterprise
1,590 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys! I wanted to finally share this project that I had started back in November of 14'. I am an engineering student at the University of Arizona and I have been involved with SAE mini Baja and the local off road group for about three years now. In the winter I had this crazy idea that I wanted to build a set of bumpers from the ground up to see if I could do it. My main goal was to first replace the rear bumper because when I got rear-ended it gave the bumper a slight bow to it. It wasn't really noticeable to my friends and family but I could see it and I am sure you guys could spot it to. Also I wanted to give myself more light when I am backing up and turn them into work lights when I am camping for setting up at night. And it must be easily removable for future under-bed upgrades.

I am very proficient with Solidworks so that was my program of choice to start the build. I started off with taking some general measurements and making a rough first model based on those measurement. So here is the first version V1. V1 was going to use the flush-mounted SR-Q's By Rigid Industries and 3/4" shackles to pull me out of tough situations. Every part is made using the Sheet Metal feature in Solidworks for easier fabrication. V1 had a lot of parts and a lot of room for error in assembly. I then went to the local OfficeMax and had a 3'x20' sheet of paper with all of the flat-pattern parts on it so that I could get an idea of how the initial design fit.

Quick Guide:

Rear Bumper Number 1: Lower Down on this Page
Rear Bumper Number 2: http://www.355nation.net/forum/weld...ders-front-rear-bumper-build-pic-heavy-3.html
Front Bumper Fab: http://www.355nation.net/forum/weld...ear-bumper-build-pic-heavy-4.html#post4398642

Back to the story...