Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
UPDATE: http://www.355nation.net/forum/i4-i5-engine-drivetrain/121850-2008-3-7l-i5-i-give-up-engine-lights-2.html#post3308218

Hello All,

I have been scanning these forums for almost 2 years now and the topics on here have been so helpful. I have been able to fix many problems thanks to the coloradofans and 355nations community without posting! Although I have come to the point where I cannot fix this particular issue and hopefully you can all help. I have searched, i swear every topic trying to fix this issue.

The Problems:
Engine light codes: P0420 - Low emissions, P0302 - Misfire Cylinder #2
MPG: 16-17 MPG Highway and city...no matter what its the same, so at least its consistently bad!
Symptoms: Rough Shaking idle (whole truck shakes), below par MPG, Engine lights, Loss of power

What I have done:
-I seafoam, replace the air filter and clean the maf sensor, and throttle body every 6 months.
-I use injector cleaner every once in a while
-I have changed my spark plugs and even replaced the coil pack on the #2 cylinder.

What I know (or think i know):
-There was a recall for the 2004-2005 (06?) with the head issue. Not sure if this happens in the later years. If so, i am not the original owner so I am not sure if the warranty applies. (I am at 150k km)
-If the cat has failed, causing the P0420 emissions code, then there is a bigger issue which caused the Cat to fail in the first place.
-If it was an 02 sensor, a different code should be coming up? then again I don't think that would cause a misfire. Although they look to be original.
-There could be a short in the coil pack wiring?

My Next Steps:
-Replace original O2 sensors
-Get the fuel injectors cleaned
-Have a compression test done at the dealership (last resort)