Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm new to 355 Nation; I've been finding your info really handy over the past number of years, but I never got around to joining until now. Anyway, I plan to do a V8 swap into a 2006 Colorado 4x4, but I have been having trouble figuring out exactly what parts I need for the swap. I plan to use a 5.3 with the 4L60E that came stock with the Silverados, and retain my 4x4 system if at all possible. Now; can anyone make up a definite list of things that I need to make this swap work? Obviously CPP motor mounts, electric fans, a redone wiring harness, etc. But what about the throttle system, the transmission control system, and which ECU I need? If someone could tell me bluntly what parts I need to get around, I would be very grateful.

·
Registered
'05 crew cab Canyon, swapping to 6.0 L96Vortex
46 Posts
Hey guys, I'm new to 355 Nation; I've been finding your info really handy over the past number of years, but I never got around to joining until now. Anyway, I plan to do a V8 swap into a 2006 Colorado 4x4, but I have been having trouble figuring out exactly what parts I need for the swap. I plan to use a 5.3 with the 4L60E that came stock with the Silverados, and retain my 4x4 system if at all possible. Now; can anyone make up a definite list of things that I need to make this swap work? Obviously CPP motor mounts, electric fans, a redone wiring harness, etc. But what about the throttle system, the transmission control system, and which ECU I need? If someone could tell me bluntly what parts I need to get around, I would be very grateful.
I'm new around here also, but I am currently doing a V8 swap and had the same questions as you a month ago. First of all, there are a lot of threads on doing the swap but most of them are old, but the information is good. Your biggest fried is CP Performance. They have everything you need as far as the swap goes.