Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have some knowledge of drum brakes i.e. I know how to make my way through a brake job. Due to this limited knowledge, I don't have much experience with diagnosing squeaks or squeals from the drums. At first I thought it to be my front brakes and have since took them off and put brake lubricant on the pads. The noise stopped for a day or so but has started up again. I have been able to determine the noise is coming from the rear. I am not sure if there is something I can put on the drum or pads to stop or at least quiet the noise, that is if nothing needs to be replaced. Any tips on what I can do?

·
Premium Member
2,761 Posts
If you pull the drums off and look closely, you will see that the metal part of the shoes rub on the backing plate in certain raised spots. I would suggest that you find some high temp lubricant, pry the shoe away from the backing plate and use a Q tip top apply a small amount of that lube at the spots that make contact. You won't want, or need, to apply very much. That is the most common cause of drum brake noise.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I just bought the truck 2 weeks ago and so I would hope I don't need to replace anything. I am hope it's the simple fix of moving the pads and adding some lubricant. Most people ask why I don't it back to the dealership and I reply if they didn't fix stuff right before putting up for sale, what makes you think they will do a better job now? Also, I trust myself more.

·
Premium Member
5,710 Posts
The dealer only needs to do a brake inspection to be sure they meet standards. Not fix squeaks or give a brake job due to "I want to sell it with new brakes".

It's always a buyer beware when purchasing used. It's too late for you know, but for others it's a good reminder to have a used vehicle checked by a mechanic prior to purchase.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #6