Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum banner

1 - 20 of 302 Posts

·
Registered
190 Posts
hey everyone. Ive been building vehicles for around 13 years, and im in the process of building 1 right now, and for some reason, i have a bad itch to start bagging my 09 colorado ext cab..... i bought it brand new, and lowered it 3/4" well i always scraped the transmission xmember from the time i lowered it. ive decided to start picking up parts to bag it, i had a lot of shit to bag it still laying around from other projects.

Im going to do this in steps, first i want to bag the front. ill probably make cups for the front to bolt into place of the shock/strut and weld a plate on the lower arm for the lower bag mount. i have the plates coming next week for all of that. i have the pipe cut for the front cups, i also have manual paddle valves, im just going to run front and back. i already made a crossmember for the rear that holds my airtank right below the bedfloor. its also going to hold the compressor when i decide which one i want. im going to run behind and under the axle brackets to try to keep everything under the stock bedfloor. im setting it up for 22s, and i plan to do a stockfloor body drop just under the cab, and when i do that, ill z the front and i plan to make a new gas tank crossmember to raise the gas tank. i plan on notching the frame, with just enough to clear the 22s with maybe 1/2" spare. ill probably get the rear leafs de-arched until i have everything to build a 3 link. i also ordered upper arms though michiganmetalworks that are 3/8" longer.

a couple questions i have.
what the best way to remove the pinch weld on the cab? can just pound it under like the s10s? i hate to cut it off and weld it back up. ive done it before with other trucks and it was horrible...lol

and why the hell is the rear end axle tubes on these trucks such an odd size? i got the axle brackets laser cut to fit the axle, and id also like to convert to 5 lug....