Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been using this forum for the past 3 years since I got my truck and it has been so helpful. Well, finally I have something that I can't figure out from past posts and had to ask myself.

My front driver's side brakes are dragging. Not a lot, but noticeably enough that after a long ride it is much hotter than the other side. I jacked up the truck and that tire is hard to turn by hand. The other spins very easily.

Took off the caliper and one of the pistons was very difficult to compress. I believe this was bad, and I replaced the caliper. Both pistons in the new caliper are easy to compress. I installed all the new hardware that came with the caliper, new pins, boots, and bolts. Put everything back together, bled the brakes, took a ride. Came back, jacked it up, still very hard to turn by hand.

Next I replaced the rubber brake hose to the caliper thinking it collapsed. Put everything back together, bled the brakes, took a ride. Jacked up the truck and its STILL hard to turn the tire.

Did some more diagnosing and it makes zero sense. If I open the bleeder valve, it comes out as I would expect. The caliper does not loosen its grip on the wheel. If I totally disconnect the rubber hose, it does not loosen its grip either, so I don't believe it is a problem with the master cylinder. If I remove the caliper, I can compress both pistons as easily as it should be, they seem normal. And once the caliper is off, or compressed, the tire spins very easily, so I don't believe it could be the wheel bearing.

So what the heck could it be??? For some reason the caliper is keeping a tight grip on the rotor no matter what, unless I remove the caliper and compress it by hand. And disconnecting the brake line does nothing. I've replaced everything on the wheel itself now except the rotor and pads, but I don't see how those could cause this problem. Maybe I am wrong?