Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum banner

1 - 20 of 226 Posts

·
Registered
9,094 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As many of you know, I'm a Collision Technician. And if the rest of you didn't know....well, I'm a body man. lol Since the average person, and even most enthusiasts, don't really know the in's and out's of body shops and repair procedures, I've been thinking for a while now how cool it would be to take you guys through a job I'm doing, complete with pics.

Well, we got in a 05 ZQ8 Crew hit down the side and they gave it to me. So what better time than now since it's a 355!

The estimate is written for.....

Buff out the grille
Replace some grille clips
New fender
New fender flare
New splash shield
New door skin
Repair the door shell
New mirror
New belt moulding
New handles (ft and rear)
Repair rear door
Remove and install rear door parts so we can paint the door
Repair rocker panel

So here we go!

Here it is.....

After removing the fender (didn't have my camera that day) I can now access where the door shell is bent in and use my trusty 12lb slide hammer to straighten it back out.

It's easier to do that when the door is on the vehicle. Now that that's done, I can take it off. The hinges on our trucks are a 2 piece set up. All you have to do is take out the 10mm bolt in the center of both hinges and lift up on the door and they come apart. Also, there's the 10mm door check bolt and unplugging the harness at the post. But the hinges are nice because when re-installing, there's no guess work or fitment involved since you didn't change the position of the hinges, which makes my job ALOT easier.

***NEW DOOR SKIN***