Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey im new to the lifting seen as i went from a lowered s10 to my new z71 colorado, and am looking to get it a little higher. ive noticed everybody seemes to be going big with the 4" rancho/skyjacker/CST kits for big budgets and with the 1" hockey puck body lift/rear shackle and TB crank for the lower budget. what i am wondering is why no one does an axle flip and then just use blocks? is there a major disadvantage to this? the other question i have is what do you guys recommend for shocks once its lifted. i really dont want to sacrifice ride quality. Thanks for the help!

·
Premium Member
19,135 Posts
Not really sure why you would want to run blocks since there is pretty much every option for a suspension lift between 2 and 4 inches.

One reason people might not do the axle flip is because that will put the driveshaft closer to the crossmember, therfore creating less travel. No one has really done it, so I am not positive, but it makes sense haha.

For body lifts, you said the 1 inch hocke puck lift. You can also do a 3" PA body lift.

Suspension lifts, you can do a 2" lift with shackles and crank the torsion bars. The shocks for this can be Rancho RS5301s for the front and RS5190s for the rear. You will need the rears but the fronts aren't necesary but will help with the ride. Other companies make shocks to fit, but I don't know which ones off the top of my head.

4" lifts are also a possibility as you said.

I have the 2" lift with the Ranchos. It's a "stiff" ride, but I like it. Doesn't bounce everywhere.

Hope this helps man.

·
Registered
1,817 Posts
going along the same lines as Blurred, a rear axle flip will generally net you4-5 inches of lift, and create axle wrap problem in higher horsepower applications.