Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
893 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm currently in the market for a portable navi unit. I was looking at the garman 650. But from what I'm reading this unit only has the ability to put in one waypoint. So saying for a say 800 mile trip the only points you can put in are the start and end, nothing else in between. I would think that would be something that one would need. Now please understand I'm TOTALLY new to the navi scene so please help this noobie out. Any advice or direction would be great.

·
3'' of glory
17,130 Posts
your right you can only put in point A to point B, but as you are driving you can locate POI's (points of interest) ie. resurants, hotels, attrections, gas stations, any where that you would want to go and still maintain your course.

you cant however preplan your course ie. go 50 stop at a certain resturant then gas, go aonther 100 miles stop at your favorite rest stop.

if you have any more specific questions just ask.

·
Registered
3,444 Posts
Same with my tomtom... 1 point @ a time... but you can locate things and then just re-enter (its saved in recent destinations to save the steps of re-typing) the address and go from where your at before you leave.

·
Registered
893 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the replies.

I guess I'm not a total noobie to the GPS world. I've used one when I was in the military. But the military ones you could program multiple waypoints and go point to point. Are all of the personel units just point A. to B.??? Or would you be able to get one different??

Have either of you guys played with the 650??

·
3'' of glory
17,130 Posts
all gps now days are point A to point B

yes i have played with the 650. its a nice unit. large screen, lots of POI's, very user friendly, built in mp3 player (which honestly it is garbage)and its garmin. they do make the best gps systems out there.

·
Registered
893 Posts
Discussion Starter #6