Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Heys guys, new to the forum and posting in here for a buddy of mine. He's looking into putting a lift kit on his truck (2010 Colorado Z71 4WD crew cab). What is the best, and easiest to DIY. My truck was done as a factory lift so I've never done a lift before but we are both very mechanically inclined. Looked at the Rough Country 2.5'' ready lift but he wants to do a bit bigger like 3.5" or 4"...
Can anyone give us a starting point on this? He wants to clear 33's with 17s or 18s if possible.
Thanks in advance,
Gunnar

·
Super Moderator
3,623 Posts
4 inch lift kit... rancho, skyjacker or tuff country make them.

Or combine a torsion bar lift ( results in a rough ride) and possibly a body lift with maybe some cutting/trimming to clear the tires but that depends on how wide the tire is and the offset/backspace of the wheels

·
Premium Member
5,710 Posts
What is a factory lift?

With our trucks, the best and the easiest are two different things. Like Greg said, torsion bar cranking is an option. I call that the easiest. But it isn't really 'installing a lift'. You are just turning a bolt and replacing the rear shackles. The rough country is just a spacer to install...and is likely unnecessary because you're can achieve the same lift height without installing the spacer.

The others are an actual lift kit (I'd call it best) and are not too often installed at home.

·
Registered
1,104 Posts
4 inch lift kit... rancho, skyjacker or tuff country make them.

Or combine a torsion bar lift ( results in a rough ride) and possibly a body lift with maybe some cutting/trimming to clear the tires but that depends on how wide the tire is and the offset/backspace of the wheels
you forgot CST, that gives 5" right off the bat.

·
I'm "That Guy"
1,185 Posts
Or, you can do all three!