Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to do an LED swap on my '08 cluster but also am in the process of getting new wheels and tires, so I don't know if the PSI will be the same as what is stock for the TPMS. Because of both of these and the fact that I have 2 TPMS related warnings that never go away, I am considering getting an older cluster that doesn't have the TPMS functionality and swapping them.

What year do I need to find? That's 04-06 right? Is there anyway to program the mileage in the cluster myself or do I have to send it out to a dealer or something?

My TPMS always has a warning even with the stock wheels and tires; pressures are correct, all sensors are reading, I've taken it to multiple tire shops to find out why it is telling me Service TPMS and Low Tire and they weren't able to reset them or get figure out why the message was happening. I tried relearn mode myself and it just doesn't work. I realllly want to swap out for an older one so I don't have to deal with it anymore and I refuse to keep buying new sensors that only work for a short amount of time.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Forgot to ask for a part number. I found 25894034 on GM Parts Direct but it says 2nd design so I assume that's the one I currently have. 15862179 is on there but discontinued, so I assume that's what I'm looking for.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
549 Posts
IMO the easy and most cost effective way to go is to search for an 04-06 cluster on ebay or LKQ that has less mileage than your current mileage . When installed the cluster will immediately display the actual truck mileage . The only small draw back is the 04-06 cluster will not have the chrome around the speedometer and tach and the lens may have some scratches . If so just swap over those items from your original cluster if they are in better condition . This will solve the TPMS issue for good . I went this route and I don't miss that TPMS one bit .
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,019 Posts
IMO the easy and most cost effective way to go is to search for an 04-06 cluster on ebay or LKQ that has less mileage than your current mileage . When installed the cluster will immediately display the actual truck mileage . The only small draw back is the 04-06 cluster will not have the chrome around the speedometer and tach and the lens may have some scratches . If so just swap over those items from your original cluster if they are in better condition . This will solve the TPMS issue for good . I went this route and I don't miss that TPMS one bit .
Yep.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
IMO the easy and most cost effective way to go is to search for an 04-06 cluster on ebay or LKQ that has less mileage than your current mileage . When installed the cluster will immediately display the actual truck mileage . The only small draw back is the 04-06 cluster will not have the chrome around the speedometer and tach and the lens may have some scratches . If so just swap over those items from your original cluster if they are in better condition . This will solve the TPMS issue for good . I went this route and I don't miss that TPMS one bit .
I thought the mileage for these was stored in the cluster itself? At least that's what I've seen on any posts about swapping clusters. It just has to have less mileage than my truck currently has and it will automatically change?

Besides the TPMS is there anything I would be missing? Are all of the warning messages, reset oil life functionality, all that still the same? I assume it is just plug any play to be swapping the entire cluster.

I really don't like chrome anyway so I was going to vinyl wrap these or plastidip them whenever I take the cluster apart. I will probably bring the rings over to the 04-06 cluster though, I don't like whatever is going on around the tach and speedo in the pics I've seen.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,019 Posts
I thought the mileage for these was stored in the cluster itself? At least that's what I've seen on any posts about swapping clusters. It just has to have less mileage than my truck currently has and it will automatically change?

Besides the TPMS is there anything I would be missing? Are all of the warning messages, reset oil life functionality, all that still the same? I assume it is just plug any play to be swapping the entire cluster.

I really don't like chrome anyway so I was going to vinyl wrap these or plastidip them whenever I take the cluster apart. I will probably bring the rings over to the 04-06 cluster though, I don't like whatever is going on around the tach and speedo in the pics I've seen.
All the same functions minus TPMS. Plug and play. Couldn’t be easier.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
All the same functions minus TPMS. Plug and play. Couldn’t be easier.
So just the only catch being it has to have less mileage? Other than that I’m good? Won’t matter if it’s an old one from a canyon or Colorado?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,019 Posts
So just the only catch being it has to have less mileage? Other than that I’m good? Won’t matter if it’s an old one from a canyon or Colorado?
Yep. Get lower mileage but I cannot speak to the Colorado vs Canyon issue.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
549 Posts
All the same functions minus TPMS. Plug and play. Couldn’t be easier.
Ditto on WV NATIVE , very easy . I found some pictures that show the cosmetic difference between the non TPMS and the ones that have it .If you look closely at the non TPMS cluster notice that the surround is gray versus the newer which is black with chrome . You can also see that the tire symbol is not on the older year cluster . This gives you options on how you want it to look when you install it . You can also choose to have different color pointers and a different gauge face cover .

100_5714.JPG
STD.jpg
Imp.jpg
lens.jpg
plug.jpg
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
221 Posts
The mileage is retained in both the BCM and in the cluster. If the new cluster has less mileage than the original, the BCM will update it immediately. But if the new cluster has greater mileage than the BCM, the mileage displayed on the cluster will NOT change until the BCM/vehicle mileage has matched the higher mileage of the new cluster. The true mileage of the vehicle is retained in the BCM and not the cluster.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
549 Posts
The mileage is retained in both the BCM and in the cluster. If the new cluster has less mileage than the original, the BCM will update it immediately. But if the new cluster has greater mileage than the BCM, the mileage displayed on the cluster will NOT change until the BCM/vehicle mileage has matched the higher mileage of the new cluster. The true mileage of the vehicle is retained in the BCM and not the cluster.
Good point on the retained mileage of the cluster .That must be modern roll back protection . Actually when swapping clusters with the key turned to the on position the cluster actual mileage shows but when the vehicle starts it flips to BCM true mileage in a split second . Pretty neat .
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Thanks for all the replies. Found an ‘06 cluster that I think I am going to pull the trigger on. Little more than I wanted to pay but it definitely has less miles. Most of the eBay ones are unknown or very high.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
Ditto on WV NATIVE , very easy . I found some pictures that show the cosmetic difference between the non TPMS and the ones that have it .If you look closely at the non TPMS cluster notice that the surround is gray versus the newer which is black with chrome . You can also see that the tire symbol is not on the older year cluster . This gives you options on how you want it to look when you install it . You can also choose to have different color pointers and a different gauge face cover .

View attachment 342020 View attachment 342021 View attachment 342022 View attachment 342023 View attachment 342024
What tire symbol are you referring to that’s not on the older cluster? I can’t find it in the pictures
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,019 Posts
What tire symbol are you referring to that’s not on the older cluster? I can’t find it in the pictures
It’s the symbol that indicates a low tire. Since the older clusters don’t have tpms there’s no need for a low tire indicator symbol.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
The mileage is retained in both the BCM and in the cluster. If the new cluster has less mileage than the original, the BCM will update it immediately. But if the new cluster has greater mileage than the BCM, the mileage displayed on the cluster will NOT change until the BCM/vehicle mileage has matched the higher mileage of the new cluster. The true mileage of the vehicle is retained in the BCM and not the cluster.
Do you know if it will change more than once? I want to do an LED swap too so if I receive the cluster, plug it in to see if the mileage changes and see if the cluster works. Then take it back out and put my original one on, swap the LEDs in the ‘06 one then when complete put it back in the truck. Do you know if it will correct the mileage again? Because after putting the LEDs in the truck will be driven so it will have have more miles than the cluster. Just don’t know if it will reset the mileage twice or if it’s a one time thing
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
549 Posts
The BCM will always display the trucks true mileage to the cluster once you turn the ignition to start as long as that cluster has less miles than the miles stored in the BCM . If the cluster has more miles than the BCM it will wait to display any additional miles until the BCM miles catch up to the cluster mileage . You can test the 06 cluster by plugging it in and then turning the key to the accessory position . It will display the cluster miles , lights , and operation of the gauges .
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
Here is a 2005 cluster that the seller says has only 1000 miles on it (as a 2005, no TPMS)

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
Here is a 2005 cluster that the seller says has only 1000 miles on it (as a 2005, no TPMS)

I actually just ordered one a day or two ago. 59k miles so it’s less than mine. Thanks though!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
I swapped a Colorado cluster into my Canyon and have had no issues at all. I have since swapped my old board into the new cluster face though since the donor truck had over 100k more than me. If your truck has less mileage than the donor then you will see that number until you catch up.
 
1 - 20 of 28 Posts
Top