Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum banner

1 - 20 of 171 Posts

·
badlandindustries.com
9,680 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
For several years now I have wanted to convert to 4x4 and install a solid axle. I am by no means an expert or have any real clue what I'm doing but I figured I had gotten to the point that I had a comprehensive understanding of the components and what all goes into this kind of project and I set out to source the parts I needed.

No, this is not a kit, I sourced parts from numerous sources and here we are.

This will not be a how to per say but I will be sufficient in that by following this build you will have a better understanding of what it takes to pull off a build such as this. All in I'll be under $2000. I will lay out the parts and costs later on. Granted only certain parts were bought new one can conceivably complete a build like this for near the same cost.

I will be creating a series of short vlogs that will accompany this thread and pictures herein. Feel free to ask questions and offer tips, tricks and insight as I go through this process.

Here is the link to the first video. From there you can find the rest of the vlogs in the series.
https://youtu.be/wd6aBlK9eR0

·
Registered
520 Posts
Re: SFA Dana 44 install and 4x4 Conversion

I will be following this build!! Even though your 2wd the axle swap should be the same as a 4wd minus a few things you have to add correct??

·
Premium Member
3,253 Posts

What Dan ^^^^^ said. Have been thinking and pondering the same kind of build Kmac. Just have to get the wife's truck paid for first. Subscribed.

·
Premium Member
4,435 Posts

Interested in this as well cuz my truck will see the same work one day after a motor swap. Good luck Kev!

·
badlandindustries.com
9,680 Posts
Discussion Starter #8

Thanks guys. So yeah the 4wd and 2wd sfa will essentially be the same but I'll have to add the transfer case and shift linkages.