Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys new to this forum, I usually don't have to ask questions. but looking for some hints/tips, with this truck. I bought this 2004 Colorado for my son it has the I5 3.5 motor, the old one ran fine, it had 230+k miles on it and was wore out. Thought it would be a good father son project to put a new motor in.
We did a refab motor from autozone, the swap went good, no abnormal issues (i've done this a few times, not a complete newb). We didn't do any mods either, just old motor out new motor in. We got the new motor in, the motor turns over but no ignition.

On install we replaced the alternator, crank position sensor, double checked all the ground leads and connections.
It's getting fuel pressure, though not sure how to check fuel injectors are firing since they are burried under the intake manifold.

I pulled the codes, but nothing, though I'm not sure it would through any codes until it actually starts.

The only sensors I know of that will flat out keep it from starting are the crank position sensor and cam position sensors. We will replace the cam sensors today.

I'm looking for any other insight as to what could be keeping it from starting.

Thoughts?

·
CALI BOSS
6,246 Posts
You can test fuel pressure at the throttle body. There aren't any hidden injectors. Check for spark by pulling a coil and attaching a plug and grounding it. You should be able to smell fuel at the tail pipe if you've cranked it over several times

·
Premium Member
2,762 Posts
You didn't make it clear, but I'm assuming that the replacement engine is a 3.5. Was it purchased as a short block or long block? Do you know for sure what year truck the engine came from? The fuel system for the 2004-2005 is a "return" system, the 2006 is not. You said "no ignition", but it appears that you haven't ruled out either the ignition or fuel system yet.