Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
352 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just bought a brand new Pioneer 200BT Touchscreen radio last week, installed it in a little over an hour. To give you a little insight on the install and myself, I am an electronics engineer, so of course, I soldered every connection and used heat shrink. I've installed many radios in my truck and others vehicles.

Starting today, after a week that the radio has worked, I was driving through town, maybe 25mph and I swear I hear one of my speakers cut out. I kind of shrug it off, and at about that time, all the speakers make a lot of crackling noise and all the speakers go dead except for my subwoofers. Every time I hit a bump the speakers would make a crackling noise. So I'm thinking a loose connection maybe. So here is what I've done so far. I took all the door panels off and checked the speaker connections (They're all good, soldered on) I checked all my solder joints at the radio harness (They're all good) I checked the connection at my wiring harness adapter (its perfectly fine.)

So now I'm scratching my head. As I start my truck up and pull out of the driveway, I hit a bump and all four speakers just came back, and have worked flawlessly since.

They may be working now, but, I'm wondering if there is a separate set of connectors or something between the radio and the speakers or something. Just wondering if anyone else has had this happen. I appreciate any replies. Thanks!

·
Premium Member
798 Posts
Agreed. I had problems with my Pioneer also. It just stopped working after about a few weeks use. I had to get it warranted several times until I recieved one that worked.

·
Registered
352 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Agreed. I had problems with my Pioneer also. It just stopped working after about a few weeks use. I had to get it warranted several times until I recieved one that worked.