Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought suspension max key kit , shackles, ball joint flip spacers, kyb shocks and was planning to do it myself but I know a kid who has a garage and he's kinda slow right now he said he'd do all the work for $500. I'm no mechanic but I've read the threads on here and thought I could do the work myself but would $500 be a good price?

·
Registered
376 Posts
What year is the truck? If it's newer do it yourself. If it's old and rusted, have a shop do it. I wouldn't pay $500 though, maybe 300 tops and that better would include the cost of an alignment.

·
Premium Member
5,710 Posts
That's 5 hours of labor, plus/minus. It may take 2 hours to install shackles, depending on rust.

Keys are the easiest thing on the vehicle to replace. Maybe not easiest, but you get the idea. It is one bolt. Pull the key off the torsion bar. But the key on the torsion bar. Install bolt. Adjust height to your happy height.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yeah I thought it was kind of high he said he's done quit a few leveling kits and older trucks like my 2005 z71 cc usually have rusted up bolts that take more work. He said no more than $500 but I was assuming 500 would pretty much be the price. I'd like to do it myself when weather here gets warmer , just not sure how difficult work was kinda doubting myself.

·
Premium Member
5,710 Posts
The shackles are the most difficult part because it's a challenge to raise the body and loser the chassis and get the bolts to align. If you have a lot of rust, the difficult level increases.

Front though, should not be a problem.

However,that is only have the battle. I you have a 4x4 you should look into lowering the differential. That will maintain the levelness of your front axles. That in turn reduces the chance of your CV boots tearing.