Chevrolet Colorado & GMC Canyon Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
381 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
guys I need some help, my front driveshaft is wet with fluid and dripping a bit, looks like it is coming from the rear of the driveshaft, what do I need to replace? anyone done it or have a how to, I'm an experianced mechanic but new to 4x4s. looks like maybe the rubber gasket that is clamped around the rear of the driveshaft, not sure. thanks

·
Super Moderator
3,620 Posts
Pics?

If it looks like this then it need to be replaced. Simple job. 4 bolts at the flange then remove at u joint.

·
Premium Member
381 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
WOW, no it doesnt look anything like that, looks like transmision fluid, and its runing the whole lenth of the front driveshaft and appears to be coming from the rear.

·
Premium Member
381 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
here are a couple of pics, nothing appears to be coming out of the front diff. looks like it's coming from the rear, but is wet all the way up.

·
Registered
362 Posts
Take the shaft off and inspect the seals, if it is leaking out of the transfer case you should be able to tell, if its not the front seal on t case, maybe a leak in the engine compartment?

·
maniac mechanic
5,779 Posts
Looks like tranny fluid to me, Check the transmission pan gasket and servo cover seals.

My trans pan gasket went and the driveshaft looked just like that, so I would focus on the transmission pan.

·
Premium Member
381 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Thanks guys, maybe I found the culprit, nothing looked really obvious but after some checking around I was able to tighten 2 of my transmission pan bolts with just my fingers, so I went back and snugged them all up. maybe that was it, there was noticeable fluid on the bottom of several bolts, and a couple of more were a bit loose, not sure why, the pan has never been off, I only have 33,000 miles on her.

·
Premium Member
381 Posts
Discussion Starter #11 (Edited)